GUNPLA MOD BUILD: 1/144 XXXG-01H HEAVYARMS PART 3 – Hips, Knees & Ankles

ha_210b

Now I got the elbows modified, the next phase is going to be trickier and complicated.

the needed tools are as follows:

tools_01

The blade knife, plamo side cutter, cement…

tools_02Sanding paper (180 & 400 grit), mini saw, pin vice drill (2mm bit), needle files…

tools_03Eraser, pencil, steel ruler…

item_02And of course, the leftover ABS runner.

ha_301

The first thing I did was cut the upper part of the thigh just below the ball socket joint.

ha_302.jpg

Next, I hollowed out the thigh parts to make room for the inner frame part that I’ll be scratch building later.

ha_303 I reused the poly cap socket joints from the ankles and encased them in a box made of 1.0mm pla plate, as seen in the photo above.

ha_304I borrowed the concept of the knee joints from the MG EW frame and scaled it down to match the 1/144 scale. I glued two layers of 1.0mm pla plates to create the double jointed knee, I drilled 2mm holes and fabricated 2mm ABS pegs for the double joints.

ha_305The thighs with the scratch built inner-frames and knee joints.

ha_306After the knee joint, I cut off the back part of the feet and the ball joint. I used the poly caps from the hip joints and transplanted them on the feet. I fabricated right angle joints for the ankles to give the feet wider swivel movement.

ha_307For added articulation, I cut off the ankle armors from the legs. I hollowed out the legs and glued together the ankle armors which will be installed later on the new ankle joints.

ha_308Here’s a mockup of the legs with new joints. As you can see, I sort of created an inner-frame for the legs from the hip, to the knee and down to the ankle.

Other views of the leg inner-frame.

ha_311Bend test is a success! The knees can now bend 180 degrees.

Bend test with leg armor.

ha_315The knee joint prototype works as it was designed to.

Inner details of how the inner-frame are mounted inside the leg armor.

Ankle armor pegs are installed in the ankle joints. This is what will hold up the ankle armor in place.

ha_320

Leg assembly with ankle armor.

ha_321With the new joints, the old 1/144 Heavyarms can now do a kneeling pose without effort. I just need a way to fix the front skirts.

Joints upgrade for the legs is complete! Now, I can make the Heavyarms do more interesting poses.

ha_329Next mod work will be for the Gatling gun handle.

Leave a Reply

