L.O. BOOSTER GUNDAM MOD BUILD 02

Welcome to the second WIP of my L.O. Booster Gundam. Last time, the head and the chest plate were slightly modified to fit the new HG body, now I’m going to work on the legs.

I installed adapters for the new knee polycap, sadly I needed to destroy one of the old knee parts just to figure out what I'm supposed to do to it.

I installed adapters for the new knee polycap, sadly I needed to destroy one of the old knee parts just to figure out what I’m supposed to do to it.

The old HG legs needed to be retrofitted with adapters to accommodate the new HG knee polycaps. Fortunately, there is no need for heavy modifications on doing this. I only extended the openings for the back of the knee joint to allow the legs to bend more than 90 degrees. The pegs for the new feet easily snapped in to the slots for the old feet polycaps, so there weren’t any major modifications to the lower leg parts at all.

The shoulder armor is very loose when I first installed it to the new HG inner shoulder armor part, so I had to put some stuffing on it.

The shoulder armor is very loose when I first installed it to the new HG inner shoulder armor part, so I had to put some stuffing on it’s connecting inner pegs to make it sturdy.

All the other mounting slots on the new HG torso were slightly enlarged, so I also needed to put fillers to the pegs of the L.O. Booster backpack.

The holes for the backpack were larger than the original, so I had to put fillers on the connection pegs of the backpack.

The holes for the backpack were larger than the original, so I had to put fillers on the connection pegs of the backpack.

With all those mods, I was able to put together the L.O. Booster Gundam with minimal effort.

I did additional modification to the L.O. Booster's head so that it won't easily fall off, that's why its not yet installed.

I did additional modification to the L.O. Booster’s head so that it won’t easily fall off, that’s why its not yet installed.

After the short modding, I present the L.O. Booster HGAC update!

The final output turned out quite nice, now the old L.O. Booster Gundam kit has a wider range of articulation. Below are a few more photos that I took.

Below is a comparison photo with the aging L.O. Booster bootleg kit that I bought fourteen years ago. The old kit became so brittle that I had to cement three of its parts hoping that it won’t fall apart during this photo-shoot. The old kit used to be dirty white, same as the one on the left. But cheap plastic knock-off being inferior, it turned to this yellowish monstrosity, the same thing happened with the old Geminass 01 kit.

Comparison with the older L.O. Booster Gundam bootleg kit. The updated torso is a bit taller than the older one.

Comparison with the older L.O. Booster Gundam bootleg kit. The updated torso is a bit taller than the older one.

A size comparison with the new HGAC Wing Gundam kit. The mod turned out to be taller than the wing Gundam as well.

A size comparison with the new HGAC Wing Gundam kit. The mod turned out to be taller than the wing Gundam as well.

I’ll post more photos if I get the urge to finalize the painting of the L.O. Booster Gundam. But that may take a while. Thanks for dropping by, till next WIP!!

Leave a Reply

