Gundam Wing Zero MG Mod Project

Gundams.. Gundams! EVERYWHERE!!

Since the release of the Wing MG kits I’ve been itching to get my grubby mitts on a Wing Zero (TV ver) MG kit, and although Bandai did make an MG of what they call “Proto Zero” I’m still not satisfied. The Proto Zero kit does look cool, but it’s not the Wing Zero Gundam that made me crap my pants every time I watch it wield its disproportionately powerful twin buster rifles. Though it has that modern sleek and rather patchy look in it, I still crave for the Wing Zero that got me hooked on Gundams, and that is the TV version. Fortunately there is a 1/100 Wing Zero HG kit available, but it’s so outdated.

The 1995 Wing Gundam 0 (Zero) High Grade kit

The 1995 Wing Gundam 0 (Zero) High Grade kit

For an older kit, an HG 1/100 Wing Zero kit is quite hard to find in my area. But thanks to internet shopping, my local hobby shop can get me older Gundam stuff. The thing with older Gundam model kits (especially the ones that came out in the 90s) is that they have a LOT of panel lines and although it’s labeled “HG” (High Grade) the articulation isn’t all that great either compared to newer HG generations or even the NG (No Grade) kits for that matter.

The horrendous panel lines.

Panel lines. Panel lines everywhere!!

Starting off with the general design of the kit, at first glance it screams ‘toy’ right away. The body is bulky and box-like, the proportions are rather off, the head is large, the body  and legs are wide, it has very limited articulation, and not to mention the flimsy joints. It can’t even hold it’s hollow shield up!

TOY!! Technically it is, but that doesn't matter!!!

TOY!!
Technically it is, but that doesn’t matter!!!

The torso is basically a box!

The torso is basically a box!

The body is so wide and bulky. This fella needs to go on a diet.

The body is so wide and bulky. This fella needs to go on a diet.

With all my frustration reaching the boiling point I decided that it’s time I do a modding of my own. I have vast experience on scratch building paper robots and I think it’s high time I put it in practice using PS plates on a Gundam kit. I did try to make other mod works in the past that got shelved, but with my frustration, I think I can see this one till the very end. With that, I started searching the internet for good mods of the Wing Zero kit, but I still haven’t found the mod that I liked best. With that in mind I’m all set to start my own mod, although I still have no idea of what I’m going to do… Well, wish me luck! I’ll try to post the W.I.P. when I’m not so lazy taking photos of my work progress.

Till, next update!!

Leave a Reply

